4

Odiferous

cause not all of love is smooth sailing
4
Transcript

No transcript...

Odiferous

It could have been a beaver, 

or a possum, or the world's largest toad--

All I know is when I swerved to the side

of a hot country road 

to photograph a dilapidated shack, 

I was met with the ripe-dinge-of death. 

So I checked about the ditches for a body, 

only to discover, 

ten feet from my right rear tire 

a soft soupy-pancake of parted fur

together with a maniac jaw and devil tail, 

and now, 

three hours later 

my suspicion is fully confirmed

as I tool down the road 

in a sweet funky-cloud 

of carrion perfume,

spinning the news 

of some creature's demise-- 

Like the wages of sin.

Like our last toxic words,

and I wonder, 

How many molecules 

of death can there be?

4 Comments
Kirk’s Substack
Kirk’s Substack
Authors
Kirk Jordan
Recent Posts